Free Book Online
Book The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet: Wayfarers 1

Pdf

The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet: Wayfarers 1

3.3 (3168)

Log in to rate this item

    Available in PDF - DJVU Format | The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet: Wayfarers 1.pdf | Language: ENGLISH
    Becky Chambers(Author)

    Book details


When Rosemary Harperjoins the crew of the Wayfarer, she isn't expecting much. The Wayfarer, a patched-up ship that's seen better days, offers her everything she could possibly want: a small, quiet spot to call home for a while, adventure in far-off corners of the galaxy, and distance from her troubled past.

But Rosemary gets more than she bargained for with the Wayfarer. The crew is a mishmash of species and personalities, from Sissix, the friendly reptillian pilot, to Kizzy and Jenks, the constantly sparring engineers who keep the ship running. Life on board is chaotic, but more or less peaceful - exactly what Rosemary wants.

Until the crew are offered the job of a lifetime: the chance to build a hyperspace tunnel to a distant planet. They'll earn enough money to live comfortably for years... if they survive the long trip through war-torn interstellar space without endangering any of the fragile alliances that keep the galaxy peaceful.

But Rosemary isn't the only person on board with secrets to hide, and the crew will soon discover that space may be vast, but spaceships are very small indeed.

A joyous, optimistic space opera... Although it isn't shy about tacklingBig Questions, PLANET is a heart-warming debut novel that will restoreyour faith in science fiction (specifically) and humanity (in general). (Tor.com)One of the most enjoyable, brilliantly realised spacey SF novels I've read in ages. (James Smythe, author of The Echo)One of the most delightful novels science-fiction that I've read in recent years. (Citior SF)The Long Way is, very simply, an extremely good book, a seemingly effortless demonstration of how progressive and enjoyable science fiction can be. (Pornokitsch)A huge amount of space-opera-y fun, with some interestingly nuanced perspectives on gender woven into the whole. (Adam Roberts, author of Jack Glass)

4.4 (10434)
  • Pdf

*An electronic version of a printed book that can be read on a computer or handheld device designed specifically for this purpose.

Formats for this Ebook

PDF
Required Software Any PDF Reader, Apple Preview
Supported Devices Windows PC/PocketPC, Mac OS, Linux OS, Apple iPhone/iPod Touch.
# of Devices Unlimited
Flowing Text / Pages Pages
Printable? Yes

Book details

  • PDF | 416 pages
  • Becky Chambers(Author)
  • Hodder & Stoughton; First Edition edition (13 Aug. 2015)
  • English
  • 2
  • Gay & Lesbian

Read online or download a free book: The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet: Wayfarers 1

 

Review Text

  • By Dramfineday on 8 September 2017

    I enjoyed this book, a little turgid in parts as the players are positioned, but it has great potential for a follow up series as the characters and story line were of interest. Good use of imagination.One personal note I dislike intensely the use of the word smirk .....no idea why but to me it's one of writings neutron bombs....only to be used sparingly, if ever. Too many smirks spoil the mix, but Becky is not alone in this as I see quite a few new writers overdosing on it. Best be like some of the greats like Iain M Banks or Terry Pratchett and keep smirking to an absolute minimum.Good effort, will buy the next one.

  • By Books Are My Vice on 9 September 2017

    I had been looking forward to reading this.It's full of great character's and a cool story. It's an easy read, not heavy at all. I generally go for books that are abit heavier but this was highly enjoyable and light and I look forward to reading the next one and hopefully the whole trilogy.An excellent blending of gender pronouns that will appeal to anyone LGBT+ especially trans and pan sexual/gender fluid identified people because there are some really cool concepts about gender being less fixed - read on and see for yourself!

  • By Mrs. Diana G. Money on 28 June 2017

    At last a real Sci Fi story not involving an apocalypse. A range of interesting aliens appears and humans, although still central in the story, have become a minor, peaceful race (I wish). The story flows well from start to finish and has a satisfying conclusion. I enjoyed all the interwoven character stories which revolved around the main plot, and made this an enjoyable read. It was also well written with good use of English and written as a book and not as a potential film script, (which I loathe ).I recommend this book to people who enjoy science fiction .

  • By Abigail Harvie on 9 July 2017

    There isn’t much in the way of “fast action” – if you like sci-fi with dramatic adventures and gun fights and goo, this probably isn’t your speed. Instead, the plot is that the crew are given a job, and they travel to said job (taking about a year to do so) stopping at various space ports across the universe to do so. The focus is on how the crew interact, how society affects love and imposes restrictions on people by their species or culture. It is about how the crew trust each other and work together when space literally starts to collapse around them. It is about finding family and the immense vastness of the universe.The book tackles racism, intergalactic politics, conflicting cultures, sexuality, family, rules and society. The technological aspects were pretty low tech, sometimes the solution is to let Kizzy loose, sometimes the solution is just a “turn it off and back on again” that we can all empathise with. It’s understandable tech, and because the mechanic and the techie are the only ones who really understand the workings of the technology, they simplify it even more. Also, the captain is a huge pacifist. So, the crew are never the ones holding the guns. The viewpoint in the book switches frequently between the crew, partly I think, to illustrate how they are all different people with different priorities that bought them aboard the Wayfarer and different ways of interacting. There are some mild sexual themes, but nothing explicit, more implicated.Honestly, angry planet, reminded me of Firefly but without the overwhelming need to punch them in the face, nor the guns, and adding in a huge variety of species rather than Joss Wheedon assuming the only species in the universe are humans. It reminds me a bit of the Cantina from Star Wars. So, this is a book about inclusivity, and examining how different cultures interact around each other. As someone who likes their sci-fi examining such themes (I mean, look at how much I loved Arrival with the emphasis on learning and that science takes time rather than boom boom) this book was incredibly enjoyable. I loved how the characters are developed and how they interact and how they rely on each other in times of emotional and real stress. I just like stories where people find family where they weren’t expecting to if I’m honest. It is a realist novel that just so happens to be set in space with aliens. It just works.

  • By R. Kelly on 25 May 2017

    I enjoy Sci-Fi and looked forward to reading this. Now I want to read more of Becky Chamber's writing. Such a good book. Not overly geeky with fantastic technological marvels, it is more about the relationships between the very different members of the crew of the Wayfarer. This mix of different species have to live and work together, and do so in such an interesting and insightful way. There are many wonderful and thought-provoking observations and ideas. Fans of Serenity and Firefly will like this. More please Becky!

  • By Holly S. on 2 August 2017

    The moment I realised I was in love with this book came very quickly after starting it. It's a scifi book that is fundamentally about people, to the point that the plot almost fades into the background in terms of importance. The team aboard the Wayfarer were so well-developed and likeable that I'd read about them doing laundry, quite honestly.Another refreshing thing is the treatment of other, non-human races. For one, not everyone speaks English (instead speaking a different universal language usually referred to as 'Klip'), and there are many scenes where knowledge of another race's customs and language turns a scene on its head, or saves the day. Humans aren't treated as the centre of the universe, or even the narrative, and the story is far better for it.It's action and humour-packed with smooth storytelling and a great exploration of what social challenges an benefits would arise when encountering races who evolved completely differently to humans - on a personal and interplanetary scale. I highly recommend it to any scifi fan.


  • Name:
    Email*:
    The message text*: